Open Yourself Up

ty.chi
2 min readSep 6, 2021

--

In my mid-teens I found myself heavily influenced by motivational and career-oriented pages on my Instagram and that constant exposure to affirmation, challenging statements and success stories shifted my perspective of failure and what it means to make progress rather than aiming for success from the onset of achieving your goals. With this so-called enlightenment, I began looking at the world through a new lens and came up with my own motivational quotes and analogies.

Funny enough, when I wrote this piece I was actually on holiday, it was inspired by a moment a family member who runs their own business had to answer a work-related phone call even though they had said they wouldn’t because they’re on holiday. I guess you can never really have a holiday if you’re chasing after your dreams, only after you’ve accomplished those dreams could you maybe get some rest but as humans, we just have to come up with more dreams to chase because it gives meaning to our lives, I suppose.

The message behind this quote is to take a break, give your mind a rest and relax your body but in doing so open yourself up to solutions for problems, new ideas and different perspectives. How do you do so you may ask, oftentimes as people chase dreams they’re either giving of themselves to the world or adhering to a particular timetable that will lead to accomplishing goals such as attending college to become an engineer. Taking a break is breaking pattern — sleeping in when you usually wake up at 6 am, and opening yourself up while taking a break would be if you’re usually in a position of giving (be it your creativity or time) receive while you rest and it could be just listening to another speaker if your day to day giving is being a lecturer.

Open Yourself Up.

--

--

ty.chi

Engineer by day, Lover of writing and music throughout the day, and Fascinated with self development and psychology at night